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MEMORANDUM 

TO:   Kent Carlson and Michael Wishnie, Co-Chairs, Task Force to Study the Use of 
MOS Specialty Training as a Substitute for State Licensing Requirements 

FROM:  Law Student Interns, Veterans Legal Services Clinic, Yale Law School 
DATE:  November 26, 2013 
RE:   Spousal Licensing and License Tolling 
 
 This memo provides a closer examination of two potential legislative reforms that were 
identified at the last Task Force meeting: 1) spousal licensing legislation and 2) legislation to 
suspend license expiration dates while a service member is on active duty. The main conclusions 
are: 
 

• Military spouses will benefit from spousal licensing legislation. The top three jobs held 
by military spouses – teacher, nurse, and child-care provider – all require state licenses. 
Nationally, over a third of all military spouses work in a field that requires a state license. 

 
• In practice, Connecticut already provides for temporary and expedited licensing in many 

of the occupational fields common among military spouses. The notable outlier in this list 
is K-12 public school teachers, who are certified by the Department of Education (DOE). 
The DOE issues one-year interim teaching certificates and testing waivers on a case-by-
case basis, but there is no cross-state reciprocity program for the Connecticut teaching 
certification. 

 
• The Task Force may wish to consider recommending a comprehensive spousal licensing 

law to capture all occupations, including teachers, and to waive licensing fees for military 
spouses who have re-located to Connecticut.  

 
• Connecticut law already provides for the automatic renewal of licenses held by active 

duty military personnel, but the relevant statute excludes licenses issued by the 
Department of Public Health and the Department of Education. The Task Force may wish 
to consider recommending an expansion of this statute. 

 
I. Relevance to the Task Force 

 
Enabling license suspension and making military spouses’ licenses more mobile are two 

key ways to support the link between the military and the civilian workforce and to promote 
civilian employment opportunities in Connecticut for service members and veterans. As of 2013, 
there are more than 860,000 military spouses in the United States.1 Ninety-five percent of 
military spouses are female,2 and military spouses move across state lines ten times as often as 
civilian spouses.3 Between 2007 and 2012, 15.4 percent of military spouses moved each year, 
compared to just 1.1 percent of civilian spouses.4 

Given their increased mobility, military spouses often select portable occupations. These 
occupations tend to require state licenses. For instance, the top three jobs held by military 
spouses are K-12 teacher, child-care worker, and registered nurse, all of which require a state 
certification. 5 In total, an estimated 34 percent of military spouses work in a field that requires 
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some form of state licensing.6 Streamlining the licensing process for military spouses would thus 
have a significant effect on their ability to participate in the Connecticut labor market.  

 
II. Spousal Licensing Legislation 

 
A. Connecticut Law Related to Military Spouses 

 
Spousal licensing legislation seeks to expedite the licensing process for military spouses 

who cross state lines with existing occupational certifications. In general, there are three ways to 
support military spouse career portability:7  
 

1) Licensing by Endorsement – This process involves automatically recognizing an 
existing out-of-state license as valid in Connecticut. 

2) Temporary Licensure – This process allows military spouses with valid out-of-state 
licenses to receive temporary licenses, typically for a period of several months, while 
they re-qualify for a Connecticut occupational license. 

3) Expedited Review – This process accelerates military spouses’ license applications. 
The licensing process can be accelerated either by prioritizing military spouses’ 
applications within the relevant agency or by waiving required examinations. 
Typically, spouses may not work during the expedited review period. 

 
Connecticut uses all three of these licensing approaches.8 The state provides license by 

endorsement for many occupations, including nursing.9 In addition, Connecticut offers 120-day 
temporary licenses for occupations such as physical therapy, and provides for licensing without 
examination (i.e., expedited review) in fields including speech pathology and dental hygiene. 
Military OneSource, a Department of Defense (DoD) program that provides information to 
military families, maintains a list of the Connecticut licenses subject to endorsement, temporary 
licensure, or expedited review.10 All of the relevant licenses fall under Title 20 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.11 

The notable omission in the list of licenses for which Connecticut has some form of 
cross-state reciprocity is K-12 teaching. While Connecticut has a “Troops to Teachers” program 
to encourage veterans to become public school teachers,12 the Department of Education (DOE) 
does not participate in teaching certification reciprocity programs with any other state.13 Instead, 
out-of-state educators who wish to become certified public school teachers in Connecticut can 
apply to have the DOE waive some or all of the coursework and testing requirements for a 
Connecticut teaching certification. The DOE grants such waivers on a case-by-case basis, and 
waivers for coursework portions of the teaching preparation program do not automatically 
exempt candidates from the DOE’s testing or experiential requirements.14  

In cases where out-of-state teachers have completed a traditional teaching preparation 
program but have not taken the Connecticut teaching exam, applicants may apply for a one-year 
interim teaching certificate, which allows them to teach in Connecticut public schools until they 
pass the state teaching exam.15 If an out-of-state teacher has three or more years experience 
teaching in a single school district, the Department of Education will waive the testing 
requirement altogether. 16 Thus, depending on how much teaching experience a military spouse 
entering the state has, she may be eligible either for a one-year interim certificate or for the full 
waiver of the teaching exam. The cost to take one Connecticut teaching exam is $125 to $140. 
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Depending on the grade level she teaches, a potential Connecticut teacher may be required to 
take multiple exams. Elementary school teachers, for instance, could be required to take up to 
three separate teaching exams. 

The Connecticut statute governing teaching certification has both permissive and 
mandatory provisions.17 The statute permits the State Board of Education to establish licensing 
requirements and to regulate teacher training.18 It also encourages teaching candidates to 
undertake training in bullying, nutrition, and intergroup relations, and requires training in 
computer and literacy skills, second language learning, standards and test-based instruction, and 
special education. Finally, the statute requires four semesters of field experience, which may be 
completed in a nonpublic school.19 

In sum, with the exception of teaching certifications, many Connecticut occupational 
licenses are already subject to some degree of cross-state reciprocity. However, unlike other 
states, Connecticut does not have a comprehensive law to streamline licensing for all military 
spouses.20 In addition, Connecticut may be using processes such as expedited review when less 
burdensome alternatives, including full licensing by endorsement, would be better for military 
spouses. In many cases, it may remain difficult for military spouses to obtain Connecticut 
occupational licenses given the frequency with which military families move across state lines 
and the range of occupations that military spouses hold.  

 
B. Potential for Spousal Licensing in Connecticut 
 
Connecticut is among the 23 states the National Military Family Association identifies as 

having a positive spousal licensing program.21 Nonetheless, there are several ways to further 
streamline the spousal licensing process. The Task Force may wish to consider recommending 
passage of a more explicit and comprehensive law to recognize the occupational difficulties 
faced by military families. One example of such a law is the Illinois Military Family Licensing 
Act, which went into effect in January 2013.22 That law directs all state agencies, including the 
Department of Education, to issue temporary licenses to military spouses with existing out-of-
state certifications. A comprehensive law of this sort would ensure that Connecticut occupations 
not currently covered by temporary or expedited licensing fall under new spousal licensure 
provisions. It would also mean that military spouse educators would automatically qualify to 
teach in Connecticut public schools under an interim teaching certificate.  

Military spouse educators could also benefit from regulatory change. For instance, the 
Department of Education currently grants testing waivers only to teachers who have three years 
of experience in a single school district. Military spouses are much more likely than their civilian 
counterparts to have moved frequently, and hence, to have taught in multiple school districts 
rather than in one place. Accordingly, the Task Force could recommend that the Department of 
Education amend its regulations to grant testing waivers to military spouses who have three years 
of experience in any school district.  

In terms of new legislation, a spousal licensing law could also provide more expansive 
opportunities for licensing by endorsement. Such a bill might contain a provision to suspend the 
expiration of Connecticut licenses held by military spouses who leave the state for up to six 
years, a period of time that would cover several tours of duty. This provision would mean that 
spouses who leave and return to Connecticut during the course of their spouse’s military career 
do not have to re-qualify for their old occupational licenses. Finally, the Task Force could 
consider fee waivers for military spouses’ licensing applications. In most cases, including cases 
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of straightforward cross-state reciprocity, the fee to receive a Connecticut occupational license is 
more than $150. 

 
III. License Tolling 

License tolling is another legislative reform the Task Force may wish to consider. In this  
context, tolling is the process of suspending a license so that it does not expire while a service 
member is on active duty. Occupational licenses can be suspended either by delaying their 
expiration dates for a fixed period of time or by automatically renewing licenses throughout the 
period of active duty. Connecticut has already taken the latter approach for most occupations. In 
2007, the state passed a broad license renewal provision that instructs state agencies to 
automatically renew occupational licenses for active duty members of the Armed Forces and for 
members of the National Guard who the Governor orders to military service.23  

However, Connecticut’s renewal law does not apply to licenses issued by the Department 
of Public Health or the Department of Education. This means that licensed teachers, nurses, day 
care providers, EMTs, sanitation workers, and asbestos and lead abatement workers may lose 
their licenses if they serve in the National Guard and get called to active duty, or if they choose 
to join the Armed Forces. The Task Force could consider whether any or all of these 
occupational licenses should be subject to license tolling. Such a reform would require amending 
the existing license renewal statute. 
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